## REGULAR MEETING MINUTES AREA PLAN COMMISSION April 7, 2008

## THE REGULAR APRIL MEETING OF THE AREA PLAN COMMISSION OF GRANT

**COUNTY** was held on Monday, February 4, 2008 at 6:00 PM in a regularly scheduled meeting on the first floor of the Grant County Office Complex at 401 South Adams Street, Marion, Indiana. The following members were present: Robert Couse, Dennis Fox, Bob Highley, Gary Johnson, James McWhirt, Tony Manry, Bob Monroe, John Woodmansee and John Bonham, President. Members absent were: Myron Brankle, Jim Dickey, David Glickfield and Dick Trobridge. Staff present was Kenneth Ellis, Executive Director, and Debbie Wallace.

John Bonham brought the meeting to order with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Tony Manry moved Dennis Fox seconded to approve the February 4, 2008 minutes as presented; all members present voted yes; motion carried.

Ken Ellis presented amendments to the Area Plan Commission/BZA Rules and Procedures:

(i) 7.7 Absence. Failure to attend three (3) consecutive regular meetings, or three (3) of any seven consecutive meetings, without the recorded consent of the President; or Vice President; or Executive Director: shall be construed as the member's official resignation from the Grant County Area Plan Commission by absence. The appointing authority shall be notified of the vacancy for just cause.

Currently there are no rules in place regulating the attendance of Board members and this would alleviate any possible problems with frequent or numerous absences.

(ii) Delete Chairperson and a Vice Chairperson and add President and Vice President including all references throughout the document

This change would bring rule compliance with state planning and zoning in the law. All references throughout the document would reflect this.

- (iii) Delete Suspicion and Amendment; add Suspension and Amendment
  - 8. Suspicion Suspension and Amendment

Suspicion Suspension. The Plan commission shall have the right to suspend these rules or any portion thereof, except where otherwise controlled by State Statute, Grant County, Indiana Areawide Zoning Ordinance or Grant County, Indiana Subdivision Ordinance, at any meeting, upon the major approval of all members present.

This change is to correct a typographical error.

Motion made by Bob Highley and seconded by Jim McWhirt to approve all changes as stated. All members present voted yes; motion carried.

Motion made by Tony Manry seconded by Dennis Fox to adjourn the meeting, and convene Executive Session. All members present voted yes; motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 6:15 PM.

John Bonham, APC President