# REGULAR MEETING MINUTES AREA PLAN COMMISSION March 5, 2012

#### THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE AREA PLAN COMMISSION OF GRANT

**COUNTY** was held on Monday, March 5, 2012 at 7:00 PM in a regularly scheduled meeting on the first floor of the Grant County Office Complex at 401 South Adams Street, Marion, Indiana.

Members present: Bob Bothwell, Mike Burton, Mark Gray, Travis LeMaster, Jim McWhirt, Dick Treon, Dick Trobridge, John Woodmansee and John Bonham, President. Members absent: Myron Brankle, Brittany Couse, Bob Monroe and Kim Windle. Staff present: Executive Director Steve Niblick, and Recording Secretary Debbie Wallace.

John Bonham brought the meeting to order with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Dick Trobridge moved Dick Treon seconded to approve the minutes from the February 6, 2012 meeting, with corrections. All members present voted yes; motion carried.

No petitions were filed.

#### **Other Business:**

## **Executive Committee**

John Woodmansee and Bob Bothwell agreed to serve on the Executive Committee. The Committee is made up of John Bonham, Dick Treon, Dick Trobridge, John Woodmansee and Bob Bothwell.

### Comp Plan

The current Comprehensive Plan was updated in the late nineties. There are three points that must be in the plan by State Statue; they are 1) a policy statement on future development; 2) policy statement on future land use; and 3) policy statement on future public infrastructure. The new plan will highlight what is required by state and ensure those will be met. The Comp Plan for the County and also the plans for the six towns were sent to the board members. The first review will be for the County. There are eleven goals and objectives; the goals are very broad and general. The Board will have to determine how specific these goals are defined. It is not necessary to change the goals but to identify how to make the goals happen. Must make sure that the Area Plan Commission can enforce anything within the Comp Plan; if it is not enforceable they should be removed.

Some board members would like for Steve to put his ideas and suggestions in the comp plan then present it to the board for review. The board should review the first four pages and put down their suggestions and ideas then compare those with the Steve's at next month's meeting.

Steve Niblick informed the board that two members are leaving; Brittany Couse (Jonesboro City Council) was appointed Jonesboro Clerk-Treasurer and no longer

eligible to serve on the APC board. Kim Windle (Citizen Appointee by the Mayor of Jonesboro) is resigning. Jonesboro City Council will appoint Brittany's replacement and the Mayor of Jonesboro will appoint Kim's replacement.

There being no other business; Dick Trobridge moved and Dick Treon seconded to adjourn the meeting. Meeting adjourned at 8:25 PM.

John Bonham, APC President