REGULAR MEETING MINUTES AREA PLAN COMMISSION April 1, 2013

THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE AREA PLAN COMMISSION OF GRANT COUNTY was held on

Monday, April 1, 2013 at 7:00 PM in a regularly scheduled meeting on the first floor of the Grant County Office Complex at 401 South Adams Street, Marion, Indiana. Members present: Bob Bothwell, Myron Brankle, Mike Burton, Travis LeMaster, Bob Monroe, Karen Owen,

Dick Treon, Dick Trobridge, John Woodmansee and President, John Bonham.

Members absent: Rob Couse, Jim McWhirt and Dennis Sexton.

Staff present: Executive Director Steve Niblick, and Recording Secretary Debbie Wallace.

John Bonham opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Bob Bothwell moved and Dick Trobridge seconded that the minutes for December 3, 2012 be approved; all members present voted yes; motion carried.

No petitions were filed.

Other Business:

Comprehensive Plan

The Comp Plan is an update on the existing plans not revisions. The plans for the towns were done in 1994-1995 by interns from Ball State with different outlooks and priorities. A community assessment was done at that time and some things were made a part of the plan that doesn't need to be in the comp plan. Steve would like to clean up the Town plans, make them more professional and comparable to each other. Jonesboro still has references as a town; the change would make all references to Jonesboro as a city not a town.

After the Towns are completed the Board would then need to look at land use for the county which could take several meetings to discuss. The comp plan would then be brought back to the board as a public hearing. Once the public hearing is held the APC board would forward the recommendation to each jurisdiction to adopt by resolution.

The new FEMA flood maps will not be adopted until sometime in the summer of 2014.

A substation will be built to the West of IMI before the wind turbines start going up. The FAA determines which turbines will be required to have lights.

Election of Officers

Nominations:

President - Bob Bothwell nominated John Bonham for president then moved to close the nomination and approve by acclamation. Karen Owen seconded.

Vice-President – Bob Monroe nominated Bob Bothwell for Vice-President, Karen Owen seconded. Dick Trobridge moved to close the nominations. For Vice-President all members present voted yes; except Dick Trobridge who voted no; motion carried.

Karen Owen volunteered to be on the executive committee.

There being no other business Dick Trobridge moved and Dick Treon seconded to adjourn the meeting. All members present voted yes. Meeting adjourned at 7:45 PM.