AREA PLAN COMMISSION MINUTES October 5, 2015

THE MEETING OF THE AREA PLAN COMMISSION OF GRANT COUNTY was held on Monday, October 5, 2015 at 7:00 PM at a regularly scheduled meeting on the first floor of the Grant County Office Complex at 401 South Adams Street, Marion, Indiana.

Members present: Bob Bothwell, Myron Brankle, Mike Burton, Stacy Clupper, Tony Manry, Rex Maynard, Jim McWhirt, Bob Monroe, Tyson Nuckols, Karen Owen, and President, John Bonham.

Members absent were: Chuck Draine and Dick Treon.

Staff present: Executive Director Steve Niblick, Area Plan Attorney Bruce Elliott and Recording Secretary Debbie Wallace.

John Bonham opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Minutes: Tony Manry moved Bob Bothwell seconded to approve the June 1, 2015 minutes. All members present voting yes, vote 11-0; motion carried.

Docket: 01Z-15 **Public Hearing** Name: Debra Bright

Address: 3824 S Clark Street, Marion

Zoning District: Residential-3

Legal Description: Being lots 9, 10 & 11 block 3 in the South Side Addition to the City of Marion, located in

the Northwest quarter of Section 20, Center Township, Grant County

Request: rezone from Residential-3 to General Business

Craig Bright was present; the building was built to be used as a residential accessory building by Mrs. Bright's granddaughter. The house was never built and Mrs. Bright purchased the property. The final inspection was made and Certificate of Occupancy issued by the Area Plan Department. Mrs. Bright wants to operate her home business there and also store equipment.

The Area Plan Commission Board gives a recommendation to the Grant County Commissioners who have the final approval of the rezoning. The property is connected to city sewer, the lot is a small lot and to place a house on it would make it very tight. Based on the adjoining properties zoning and uses the Area Plan staff gave a favorable recommendation to the APC board. If the rezoning is approved a Special Exception would still be required to operate the type of business the petitioner wants to do.

No objectors in the audience and none on file.

Motion: Bob Bothwell moved Bob Monroe seconded to give Docket #01Z-15 a favorable recommendation to the Grant County Commissioners. All members present voting yes; vote 11 - 0; motion carried.

Other business:

2016 Meeting schedule

Motion: Jim McWhirt moved Bob Bothwell seconded to approve 2016 meeting schedule as presented. All members present voting yes; vote 11 - 0; motion carried.

There being no other business, meeting adjourned at 7:15 PM.

John	Bonham,	APC	President	