## **AREA PLAN COMMISSION**

MINUTES April 4, 2016

THE MEETING OF THE AREA PLAN COMMISSION OF GRANT COUNTY was held on Monday,

April 4, 2016 at 7:00 PM at a regularly scheduled meeting on the first floor of the Grant County Office Complex at 401 South Adams Street, Marion, Indiana.

Members present: Bob Bothwell, Myron Brankle, Chuck Briede, Mike Burton, Rex Maynard, Jim McWhirt,

Bob Monroe, Tyson Nuckols, Karen Owen and President, John Bonham.

Members absent: Stacy Clupper, Tony Manry and Dick Treon.

Staff present: Executive Director Steve Niblick, and Recording Secretary Debbie Wallace.

John Bonham opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance.

**Minutes**: Chuck Briede moved Rex Maynard seconded to approve the March 7, 2016 minutes. All members present voting yes; vote 10-0; motion carried.

**Docket:** 01P-16 **Public Hearing** Name: Farrales S/Div vacation

Address: northwest corner of 200 S and 600 E, Marion, Grant County

**Zoning District:** Residential-Suburban (RS)

Legal Description: being 2.47 acres more or less and located in the Southeast Quarter of Section 13 in Center

Township, Grant County, Indiana.

**Request:** to vacate lots 1 & 2 and put it back into acreage

Don Wimmer, PO Box 547, Marion, President of Wimmer Land Surveys, was present representing the petition. This is a two lot residential subdivision located at the Northwest corner of 200 S and 600 E; currently there are no improvements on either lot. The prospective buyer wants to build a home in the middle of the two lots and the only way he can do that is to have it vacated and converted back into acreage; due to public utilities easements. There are no pipes crossing the road, all surface water runs to the ditch.

Steve Niblick, currently two (2) homes could be built on it; the office has no problems with the plat vacation.

No objectors were in the audience or on file.

**Motion:** Bob Bothwell moved Bob Monroe seconded to approve Docket #01P-16 as presented. All members present voted yes. Vote 10-0; motion carried.

**Docket:** 02P-16 **Public Hearing Name:** Stamper Addition replat **Address:** Southeast corner of Berry & Hope Drive, Upland, Indiana, Grant County

Zoning District: Residential-4

**Legal Description:** being 1.58 acres more or less and located in the Northeast Quarter of Section 10 in

Jefferson Township, Upland Corp, Grant County, Indiana.

**Request:** replat lots 6 - 11 in Stamper Addition

Don Wimmer, PO Box 547, Marion, President of Wimmer Land Surveys, was present representing the petition. The current owner wants to build on the east side of the ditch, currently the only way would be to combine some of the lots and create a larger parcel. The proposed twenty (20) feet drainage easement along the Jefferson ditch was not approved by the drainage board. The drainage board wants the Town of Upland to take over maintenance of the ditch.

John Bonham, as representative of Upland stated this would have go in front of the town council and be decided on. He feels it would be better to continue this request until something is agreed on between the town of Upland and the drainage board on Jefferson ditch. Mr. Bonham recommends that they continue the public hearing until such time drainage issues are resolved. Mr. Wimmer would then notify the Area Plan office when to place the petition back on the agenda to be heard.

Steve Niblick noted that the current plat submitted is incorrect since the drainage board did not approve the reduction of the drainage easement to twenty (20) feet. Once the drainage issue is settled a new plat would need to be submitted.

**Motion:** Bob Bothwell moved Bob Monroe to continue Docket #02P-16 until the drainage issue is resolved. All members present voted yes. Vote 10-0; motion carried.

## **Other Business:**

Steve Niblick reviewed the monthly reports.

Currently no petitions have been submitted for the May 2, 2016 Plan Commission meeting. There will be four (4) to six (6) petitions in front of the board of Zoning Appeals for the May meeting.

There being no other business,	Chuck Briede moved	Tyson Nuckols	seconded to a	adjourn the	meeting;	meeting
adjourned at 7:40 PM.						

John Bonham, APC President	