AREA PLAN COMMISSION MINUTES

June 20, 2016

A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE AREA PLAN COMMISSION OF GRANT COUNTY was held on Monday, June 20, 2016 at 7:00 PM on the first floor of the Grant County Office Complex at 401 South Adams Street, Marion, Indiana.

Members present: Bob Bothwell, Myron Brankle, Chuck Briede, Mike Burton, Tony Manry, Rex Maynard, Tyson Nuckols, Karen Owen, Dick Treon and President, John Bonham.

Members absent: Stacy Clupper, Jim McWhirt and Bob Monroe.

Staff present: APC attorney, Bruce Elliott, Recording Secretary Debbie Wallace and staff Brenda Harrison.

John Bonham opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Minutes: Bob Bothwell moved Karen Owen seconded to approve the May 2, 2016 minutes. All members present voting yes; vote 10-0; motion carried.

No petitions were filed.

John Bonham announced that Steve Niblick has resigned as Executive Director of the Area Plan Department. He has taken a new job in Tipton. Part of Steve's consideration to take the new job was the drive time. The Executive Committee was in the midst of a review of Steve's evaluation but it was not brought to a conclusion.

Motion: Chuck Briede moved Rex Maynard seconded to accept the resignation of Steve Niblick. All members present voted yes; vote 10-0; motion carried.

The Grant County Council at their June 15, 2016 meeting gave approval to fill the vacancy. The process of hiring a new director will begin; Bob Bothwell will serve as coordinator for the search process. The notice will be posted on Ball State University's "Cardinal Career Link" and also will be posted on the American Planning Association's website. Resumes will be taken through July 23, 2016. Board members were requested to look over the job description for the director and contact Bob Bothwell or the APC office with any additions or changes. Letters of interest and resumes should be sent to the Area Plan Department or Bob Bothwell.

Motion: Bob Bothwell moved Chuck Briede seconded to appoint Debbie Wallace as interim director with remuneration for the time period served. All members present voted yes. Vote 10-0; motion carried.

Attorney Bruce Elliott gave an update on the two lawsuits filed against the Area Plan Commission. On the Leffler, same as before, no meetings scheduled case attorney Michael Morow was appointed by the insurance company. The county is still waiting to hear if insurance will cover the Mitchell/Barrett case.

There being no other business, Rex Maynard moved Myron Brankle seconded to adjourn the meeting; meeting adjourned at 7:40 PM.

John Bonham,	APC President