## MINUTES of the GRANT COUNTY AREA BOARD OF ZONING APPEALS December 4, 2017

A PUBLIC HEARING OF THE GRANT COUNTY BOARD OF ZONING APPEALS was held on Monday, October 2, 2017 at 6:00 P.M. on the first floor of the Grant County Office Complex at 401 South Adams Street, Marion, Indiana.

The following members were present: Rex Maynard, Teresa Mendoza, Bob Monroe and Vice-Chairman Lois Jones.

Members absent were: Craig Freeman, Chip Long, and Bill Johnson.

Staff present was Executive Director Larry Strange, APC Attorney Bruce Elliott and Recording Secretary Debbie Wallace.

Lois Jones brought the meeting to order with the Pledge of Allegiance and a moment of silence.

Rex Maynard moved Lois Jones seconded that the minutes from October 2, 2017 be approved; Bob Monroe and Teresa Mendoza both abstained. Motion did not carry, because of a lack of majority approved. Minutes will need to be approved at the next meeting.

Larry Strange went over the rules and procedures; all petitions follow the same format.

**Docket:** 20 BZAV-17 (**Public Hearing**) Name: Alan & Helen Blanchard

**Address:** 963 Eva Lane, Upland **Zoning District:** Residential-S (RS)

Legal Description: Being Lot 14 in Sellers Add sec 1 & .35 acres more or less and located in the

Southeast quarter of Section 27, Jefferson Township, Grant County, Indiana.

**Request:** to allow an accessory building to be twelve (12) feet from the south property line (Sellers

Rd) instead of the required fifty (50) building line

Larry Strange went over the recommendation; the Grant County Commissioners gave a favorable recommendation to the BZA. The staff recommendation was favorable.

Alan Blanchard, 963 Eva Lane, Upland, was present. This new building would be used for personal storage only no type of commercial operation.

No objectors were in the audience or in the file.

Proof of publication is in the file.

Public hearing is closed.

**Motion:** Bob Monroe moved Rex Maynard seconded to approve Docket #20BZAV-17 as presented. All members present voted yes. Vote was 4-0-0; motion carried.

The election of officers for 2018 will be held at the next meeting.

There being no other business, meeting adjourned at 6:15 PM.

Lois Jones, Vice-Chairman